BEATMO + Love Grenades at Commonwealth, April 11, 2011

13 Apr

A couple of nights ago, after doing my monthly job of covering local government for a certain website in an undisclosed suburb southeast of Los Angeles, I headed straight to the Commonwealth Lounge in Downtown Fullerton. Why? To see Love Grenades. I had the pleasure of seeing the band open for Little Boots a couple of years back and I am enamored with the band’s flirty, sexy composition. Love Grenades has three things going for them: they’re sexy, they’re confident and they’re mighty talented. To pull off a sound reminiscent to ’60s girl groups in today’s overproduced, autotuned music industry is a great feat!

_MG_3929

_MG_3878

_MG_3938

Before Love Grenades did her set, local heroes BEATMO (most of the band went to La Habra High) shined the audience with all their raw energy. While I’m trying my best to avoid comparisons, I have to say that BEATMO has some Yeah Yeah Yeahs elements…at least that’s what some of the band members that I talked to last night told me. They were right. Alexis (the lead singer) exhibited quite an energetic performance moving up and about throughout. This band deserves some love!

_MG_3861

_MG_3771

More pics from their gig are here.

Keep it posted here for last night’s photos and some darn good bands!

Leave a Reply

