Community College

16 Aug

Today, I have set the odometer back a bit in my life. I’m back in community college*. Why? As I try to look for a permanent full-time job, I think it’s important that I improve on the skills that I need to go a step further. For instance, newspapers, especially local ones, are looking for people with good photographic skills. Even though I post club photos on a regular basis, I need to have the legitimacy as a photographer. So I’m trying to get added into a digital photography class considering I need the time for a part-time job to fund this venture.

As I stepped foot on the campus for the first time in three years, I noticed some significant changes. First of all, I was turned away from the parking structure for the first time ever because it was filled up. Filled up. Nice. Luckily I found parking in the back, so I can’t really complain, but tomorrow’s another day.

I quote Tupac: “Some things will never change.”

*Unless I fail to enroll in the classes I’m petitioning.

3 Responses to “Community College”

  1. Tina August 16, 2010 at 23:05 #

    Where are you going? Santa Ana College has the number one nation-wide college newspaper for 17 years in a row now. I was going to suggest you go there!

  2. efcarrasco August 16, 2010 at 23:16 #

    Thanks for the suggestion! However, I’ve already written for a community college years before back at OCC. Since my schedule isn’t as flexible as I wanted it to be, I’m only a part-time student!

  3. MarQ August 19, 2010 at 15:44 #

    Hey, we’re both gonna be incoming students this semester! Seems to be the last resort for those who are unemployed or for those who are employed but are bored out of their minds.

Leave a Reply

