You Say Street Fighter, I Say “Pwnage”?

25 Jul

ASS-WHOOPING FTW!

I have this friend who’s competitive. It’s not what you think. He’s competitive in…Street Fighter.

How does one do that? It’s by concentration and having a trunk full of tokens. It’s an expensive habit, but if it leads to cash prizes and conventions in Las Vegas, then it sure as hell must be worth it.

I went to see some friends tonight and we ended up in this dingy, dark, and nearly overcrowded arcade in Rowland Heights. Lots of teenage…dudes. I played some Street Fighter games–all involving a total ass-whooping either by a human or a CPU.

Anyway, my friend is in this tight-knit community of gamers that kick ass; competing against each other for total bragging rights and pwnage. However, the most interesting thing about this community is that they really care for each other. For instance, my friend told me of this story of this fighter in New York City who lost his home by fire. People in this fighter community found out about it and spread the word to raise money–all for this guy. Amazing. Even churches aren’t that generous.

This brings me to my point. I’m doing research on this community–not well known in the mainstream but very active. If you’re part of this community, I’d like to talk to you!

Leave a Reply

