I’m 24 and Jobless

22 Jul

My name is Ed. I’m 24 years old and I’m jobless.

Why? Who knows. It could be the economy. It could be that California has 2 million unemployed and not many jobs to fill. It could be that I don’t have the qualifications. Whatever it is, I’m typing this entry into my blog. If I had a job, I probably would not be on the computer as much. Hell, I wouldn’t even think about posting something about unemployment.

Sometimes I wish I stayed back in London and did an internship there, but still, I don’t regret moving back to America. Why? I would have dried up my loan money had I stayed there since the opportunities as a foreigner are measly and involve no pay. So why bother?

I’ve looked for jobs on Craigslist but so far to no avail. I’ve had one interview so far, but I think it looks like I didn’t get the job. Otherwise, few employers have called me back for an interview. I wonder, if Craigslist hasn’t been so successful, why am I still using it?

I’ve gone so far as to use the unemployment office to get answers on resumes, job leads, etc. They can’t guarantee me a job, but hey, if they can assign me a case worker to deal with my job search I’m more than happy to do my bit to get paid.

In a way, I suppose that I can’t be jobless forever and stay at home, wishing I could be doing something interesting. How are you coping without a job?

2 Responses to “I’m 24 and Jobless”

  1. MarQ July 23, 2010 at 00:00 #

    I spend all this time complaining about how my job is slowly sucking my soul away, but I guess I should feel lucky that I’m even working right now…

    • chad August 2, 2010 at 14:29 #

      word bro.

Leave a Reply

