Coming to America?

22 Feb

So for the last three months, I have been without any fascinating posts or marauding adventures of grime and destruction. It’s just a simple case of writer’s block. Yes, bloggers have writer’s block too! Right now, I’m thinking of the future, and it’s been nearly crystal clear for the past few weeks now.

In case you haven’t gotten much of the hints on my Facebook or I haven’t told you details as I’m passing by, I will more than likely move back to the United States in early June, right after I turn in papers for my classes. So my plans for living in Clapham and getting a shot at working for The Guardian or The Times are now over. The reason I say more than likely is because, like journalism, things can change in an instant.

Why am I moving back to the United States? First of all, as a foreign resident and not a citizen of the European Union, it would be harder for me find and secure a job under the immigration rules. Even if I decided to take the one-year program for graduating students and live here, jobs in my field will need to be advertised to British and EU citizens before non-EU citizens can take the chance. Second, the opportunities as a journalist in the United States has seemed to improve somewhat, as I’ve been looking
at JournalismJobs.com almost every day and there’s opportunities abound in many corners of the USA.

However, I’m putting my bets on the internship path. So far, I’ve applied for internships in Seattle, Las Vegas, Washington, D.C., and with a company that has newspapers in many cities throughout the United States, including two in Southern California. Basically, anywhere in the continental United States (with notable exceptions) are fair game.

While I will have to put my plans of living abroad on hold, I have no regrets moving to London and studying in this journalism course. It has been quite a life-changing experience for me so far, as I have learned about self-sufficiency, cultural differences, and to avoid using the word “soccer” at all times, especially in front of Everton fans. I’m looking forward to the next few months of challenges, opportunities, and visiting as many places in Europe as I can.

2 Responses to “Coming to America?”

  1. Julie February 23, 2010 at 02:10 #

    i’m so sad you didn’t leave pics of london at least :-/

  2. MarQ March 2, 2010 at 05:45 #

    good luck on everything! hey, at least you got to say you lived in Europe for a while!

Leave a Reply

