“Let’s not forget ourselves good friend…”

15 Nov

As I reflect on my younger and gasoline-driven days, I realized I miss the sound of Los Angeles. Case in point: Rilo Kiley.

In my opinion, Rilo Kiley has to be one of the best Indie bands to come out of Los Angeles. Jenny Lewis has a soft, remarkable voice, but can turn passionate as she tells a story. One of my favorite Rilo Kiley songs has to be “Does He Love You,” where Lewis tells the story of love, an unhappy marriage, and an affair. Lewis and her bandmate Blake Sennett write the song in dramatic, melancholy fashion, with lyrics like:

Let’s not forget ourselves good friend

I am flawed if I’m not free

And your husband will never leave you

He will never leave you for me.

Such emotion. I love it.

One Response to ““Let’s not forget ourselves good friend…””

  1. Cat November 16, 2009 at 13:16 #

    you going back for xmas?

Leave a Reply

