Victim Support. Please.

13 Nov

As I was heading out to the newsroom today to finish up a couple of articles, I got a letter that I expected was from the police. It turns out that the national Victim Support sympathizing with me and asking me to give them a call. I was attacked for no reason, and all you can give me is a letter of sympathy? I wonder if I was a taxpayer in this country if this is money well spent.

The police’s lack of response, despite the fact that this attack was unprovoked and left me with a bruise below my right eye, shows that the police need to respond better to the needs of its community. If the police don’t do their job, people will live in fear, and yobs will rule mercilessly on Britain’s streets. Victim support is secondary. All I want is the stupid yob to be caught so we can all move on.

One Response to “Victim Support. Please.”

  1. Paul Fawcett February 5, 2010 at 09:13 #

    Hello

    I’m sorry to hear about your experiences. But I just want to make something clear. Victim Support isn’t part of the police – we’re a quite separate charity. We would have got your name and address from the police after you reported the crime and the letter simply means that we were unable to get you on the phone having tried a few times. Do give us a call – we can’t catch or punish the offender for you (that’s the job of the police) but there may be other ways that we can help you sort the situation out.

Leave a Reply

