Love or: How I Think Advertising Could Be Creative Without Saying Anything

25 Oct

I uploaded this as my Facebook profile photo recently.

IMG_0038

I took this at Utrecht Centraal Station after drinking too many biertjes (that’s small beers in Dutch) and a glass of wine. I thought the ad was cute, possibly a modern twist to that iconic Lady and the Tramp Scene.

The best part of this poster? It’s not clearly selling the onlooker anything. It’s an ad from HEMA, a Dutch store that’s akin to IKEA and Wilkersons. Does this mean that it’s romantic to shop at HEMA? You be the judge.

Perhaps in Los Angeles, Albertson’s or Von’s should put up a billboard on Westwood Boulevard like that, and I wonder what people would be buzzing about then.

On a related note, check out the HEMA website. It’s really clever.

One Response to “Love or: How I Think Advertising Could Be Creative Without Saying Anything”

  1. Julie October 26, 2009 at 05:21 #

    awww I thought about “Lady and the Tramp” too.

Leave a Reply

