Is an 11-hour bus ride worth it? Probably not.

23 Oct

I didn’t have £200 to fly to Amsterdam, so I had to take the bus getting there. I only paid £16 to hop on a Eurolines coach for a 10-hour ride that crisscrossed through France, Belgium, and the Netherlands (of course). While the scenery in some places were to die for, with autumn changing the colors of the leaves and the partly cloudy afternoons shining across the land, most of the drive passed through many, many, many industrial buildings and car dealerships (seriously). It was like driving through 200 versions of Santa Fe Springs.

The passengers on the coach were a unique bunch, especially two blokes who sat behind me. One of the first things the bus driver said as we left Victoria Coach Station was “no alcohol.” When the bus driver clearly states no alcohol, he means it. Then again, he’s not going to look at the back of the bus because he has to take 30-odd passengers to their final destination safely. So for law-abiding travelers like me, I have to sit through 11 hours with these two drunken blokes in unusually conversations and smell the waft of their burping, alcoholic air. I bet they’ve got a lot of cans and bottles of Strongbow lying around on the bus after we had arrived in Amsterdam. They mean well, but that’s just too much.

Perhaps I should book early and just fly next time, even though it may cost me more.

One Response to “Is an 11-hour bus ride worth it? Probably not.”

  1. Julie October 24, 2009 at 07:07 #

    Actually I like long bus rides because I like the change of scenery–maybe because I’ve road tripped too much. But ugh…I’m sorry how you had to go through with those two passengers the whole ride.

Leave a Reply

